ASO AC Selects Maemura Akinori to Serve on Seat 10 of ICANN Board of Directors

The ASO AC is pleased to announce that Maemura Akinori has been elected to serve for a three-year term on Seat 10 of the ICANN Board of Directors.

Maemura Akinori’s term will start right after the conclusion of the ICANN 57 Meeting that will be held in Hyderabad in November 2016.

A brief biography of Mr Maemura is available on the ASO website at:

The ASO AC would like to thank all the candidates who devoted their time to this selection process and for their willingness to serve on the ICANN Board.

Seat 10 is currently filled by Kuo-Wei Wu. The ASO AC would like to thank Kuo-Wei Wu for his 6 years of service in the ICANN Board representing the Internet numbers community’s interests and concerns

Mr Maemura’s appointment followed a lengthy selection process, which included a public call for nominations, a public comment period, interviews with all candidates, and two rounds of voting sessions in which all eligible ASO Address Council members participated.

Along with the election results, full details of the process, including information of all candidates, are available on the 2016 ASO AC election page .

Last modified on 09/09/2020