The Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development

The Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) was founded in 1960 as a forum in which governments can work together to share experiences and seek solutions to common problems. As of 2011, the OECD has 34 Member countries.

The OECD works with governments (and other stakeholders) to analyze and compare data to predict future trends, understand what drives economic, social and environmental change, and set international standards.

The OECD also considers issues that relate to the Internet Economy. At events including the OECD Ministerial Meeting On The Future of the Internet Economy (2008) and the OECD High Level Meeting on the Internet Economy: Generating Innovation and Growth (2011), and in a number of committees and working parties, the OECD has examined a range of topics relating to the economic and social impact of the Internet.



The NRO was among the founding members of the Internet Technical Advisory Committee (ITAC), which was officially recognized by OECD Council on 15 January 2009. The OECD relies on ITAC and other Advisory Committees (including Business, Civil Society and Trade Unions Advisory Committees) for input and advice to assist the OECD and its Member countries in formulating policy for the Internet Economy.

The ITAC membership consists of more than 20 organizations from around the world, including the five RIRs, the Internet Society, the W3C, and ICANN.

List of ITAC members

The ITAC primarily contributes primarily to the work of the OECD Committee for Information, Computer and Communications Policy (ICCP) and its specific working parties such as the Working Party on Communications and Infrastructure Services Policy (CISP), the Working Party on Information Economy (WPIE) and the Working Party on Information Security and Privacy (WPISP).

Comments are closed.